HomeReviews → Pirelli

Pirelli MT66

User reviews of Pirelli MT66
Rated (4.7 / 5) 5 star rating
based on 26 reviews

Submit your review

Pirelli mt 66 route

November 29, 2014
Wow the tire is so bad! Can't find a store that sells them in town. Had to do the internet thing. I have been riding for 30 years on Dunlop, Avon, Metzeler and others, no comparison, these are the best tire out there. I never really cared about milage on my tires so, I don't know about that, heck most times my Harleys don't have a working speedometer. These Pirelli's are simply the best so far. I like them so much I took the Avon's off my sons Sportster and installed these. He likes the bobber look. I love that kid, so I put the best tire I can on his bike. He makes good money its, well... Is it just a dad thing!

Jim from Temecula

20 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating


Love the mt66

April 24, 2014
Have had both Dunlop 404s and Bridgestone Spitfires on my Virago 1100. At times I just did not feel safe as the grip with these tyres were less than ideal and especially in the wet, they also wore down incredibly fast.

Next set were MT66 and I got 16,000 klms out of them and they could have travelled much further. So impressed that I got the same ones for my next set, to see if the first tyres were just a dream. Very happy to say the second set went just as well and I will always buy MT66 and none other from now on. Hope they continue to be made for many years.

Sue from Australia

29 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Great tires!!!

February 28, 2014
I had a wrecked Shadow Spirit 750 that I rebuilt back to mint condition. I opted to get rid of the Dunlop tires due to the fact that you can visibly see the tread loss after every long ride, which is crazy to me. I went with the Pirelli Route tires. These tires performed far beyond my expectations. They handled extremely well, wet or dry and were very responsive.

I rode on this set for almost two full seasons, which was approx. 15,000 miles. The rear tire was getting pretty low on tread and the front still ha a little life left. Since it was off season I went ahead and put a new set on and absolutely went with Pirelli again. These are my favorite tires for a cruiser, hands down.

Lownlean from Tn

30 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Pressman

May 10, 2013
One of the best tires I have drove. Handles and tracks so much better then Dunlop I had on.

Bilboona from MT

29 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Update on update

March 24, 2013
The front tire on my Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic has reached the end of its tread life. The inside middle has worn a little more due the road being crowned, no fault of the tire.

I've got around 13,000 trouble free miles. The rear tire is showing the same inside wear but I guess it is good for another 500 to 1000 miles. I put the rear on after the front so I estimate it will end up with around 12,500 miles when I replace it. I think this is great mileage, especially for the rear tire, since I've always worn the rear out much quicker on all the other bikes and tires I've owned.

Handling has gone away very little (hardly noticeable) not enough to cause any concern, even at the end of the tire's tread life.

Brian from Southern California

34 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

10,000 mile update, '79 CB750K

August 27, 2012
Sold the bike last week, and while going through the maintenance records, I discovered the Pirelli's had 10,000 miles on them.. .

The rear tire appeared to be 2/3 gone on the tread, while the front appeared to be about 1/2 gone. I advised the buyer to replace them, due to age (three years), even though they had plenty of tread left on them.

I have a matching set of MT66's on my heavy touring bike, a '92 Kawasaki Voyager XII. I looked at their condition, and tread, as well, since they now have 7,000 miles on them: plenty of tread left on both, front, and rear, hope to wear them down to the safety bars before the three year mark, 08/30/2013!

Still loving these tires. We ride 99$, two up. We do several 4+ day tours, with full luggage (saddle bags, and trunk), and these tires are working flawlessly.

Installed some right-angle valve extenders to allow easy access for checking/adding air -- they leaked. Had to ride the bike with 10 PSI front, and 20 PSI, rear, for several miles, two up.. . Bike rode well, considering. Tires were fine, after removal of the extenders (eliminated the air leak issue), and they aired up, and rode perfect afterwards.

We have ridden our heavy touring bike, in multiple rain storms, fully loaded, two up. Never a traction/grip issue, even leaning in corners! These are the only tires we will ride on, until they are no longer available. Cheers!

BAL02 from SE Minnesota

43 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 4 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Update on honda

April 28, 2012
I replaced my front tire on my honda shadow 1100 with a mt66 (the rear is the same) and immediatly noticed how much lighter and easier to turn the front of the bike became, while still feeling secure when leaned over. The steering imputs change my direction more quickly which requires a little more attention, but overall this tire has made this bike more exciting to ride and it provides a better feel for the road.

I have mt66s on my 1500 vulcan also. These tires have both quickened the steering (though not to the same degree) and improved road feel and greatly added to a secure and in control feeling I have while riding. This bike is much heavier so this quality is greatly noticed and appreciated.

Overall, the mt66s have taken the best characteristics of my bikes and made them better. I would recommend them for any cruiser.

Brian from Southern California

37 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Pirelli mt66

March 15, 2012
I had a set of avon venoms on my 1994 shadow. Both tires were the best tires I had used to that date. The rear wore out rather quickly so I put on a mt66. Instantly I was impressed with the grip and the improvement in handling, even better then the avon when it was new.

A couple of years ago I bought a very low mileage 2003 kawasaki vulcan 1500 classic. The stock brigstones were not too worn, but old and cupping. The mt66s are listed as a replacement option and I like it on my honda so it was a no brainer. The mt66s make the kawasaki feel secure at both ends and corner and stick. It is now time to replace the front avon on my honda because of age not tire wear, I can't believe the milage, but a mt66 will be my next purchase. I will let you know the results.

Brian from Southern California

42 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Route 66 front tyre

January 25, 2012
I previously had dunlops on my xv1600a 300kg cruiser,the turn in on these was sluggish but with a bit of counter steer this was always a solid performer, and I got 10,000klm out of the front and 6000klm out of the rear. My riding buddy first bought the route 66 for his 240 kilo rtuiser and they appear to be going very well. With that in mind I purchased the route 66 and straight away noticed how well they turn into a corner, however when I started to get more miles up and started pushing into my favorite corners I now find the tyre gets very nervous and vague in feeling when pushed on the outer edge.

It might be this tyre suits lighter cruisers. The route 66 tyre now is wearing terrible on the outside edge with a little over 3000klm on it, I will be lucky to keep this tyre for much over 5000 klm, and yes I am using correct pressure, I will probably go back to dunlops again. I am very happy with dunlop elite on the rear.

Paul McClean from queensland

28 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 2 star rating

Update on last review

May 11, 2011
I reviewed the MT66 in 2007, and said I would probably go with a softer tire on the rear next time. I did not. I bought another MT66, and I am completely satisfied with this tire, still matched with a Metzeler Lasertec on the front of my BMW R100.

Coming out of Tennessee last fall on a cool Sunday morning, not in the groove yet, loaded with camping gear, I entered a turn a bit too hot. All I could do was crank it harder or go into the trees. My shoe drug the pavement while still on the peg, but without complaint the BMW just went around the corner. I now give the MT66 5 stars. A tire that saves your butt gets the highest rating. I recommend the tire highly.

D Rose from Indianapolis, IN

81 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Best Rubber for a Shadow

April 21, 2011
I used to have Dunlop 404s on my 1998 Shadow 750 (12/90-17F 170/80-15R) and I found them to be ok. I only got 6k miles out of the front though. I do like to corner my ride. I heard excellent things about the MT66 tires, and I decided to give them a try. I have to say that they are OUTSTANDING!

I have ridden over 6k miles so far, and the wear on them so far is minimal. They also give excellent grip when cornering, allowing me to lean pretty well for a cruiser. One very noticable improvement is that my bike now feels much more responsive on turn-in. They communicate to me a lot better what the road is like as well.

If you want a tire that will both last, and allow you to ride your cruiser to its full potential, then the MT66 is the tire for you.

Justin P. from Waterville, ME USA

67 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Great Cruiser Tire

November 21, 2010
I put a rear MT 66 on my 03 Vstar when it was time to replace. The tire is an excellent buy, I am having the front changed to a MT 66 also

Dave from FL USA

48 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Outstanding

June 01, 2010
After reading other riders praise for these tires and noticing my dunlop 404s were seriously losing tread at a rapid rate. I made the changeover to a new set of pirelli mt66 tires.

Simply outstanding is how ill describe the change in the handling of my bike (a kawasaki vulcan). They grip like glue in the corners and smooth out the ride over bumps. Grooves in the freeways are hardly noticeable and I feel more confident riding on these tires than I did with the dunlops. I give a solid thumbs up for these tires, what an improvement!
Like em so much I got my girl to swap out her dunlops as they were wearing out fast and she was almost ready for a new set. She is also as enthusiastic with the enhanced performance these pirellis bring to her bike . I wish I had switched over sooner cause the bike rides so much better with them. No more dunlops for me!

outrider from los angeles ca

88 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Great, inexpensive upgrade from stock tires

May 24, 2010
Replaced my stock Dunlop 402s with Pirelli MT66 front and rear on my HD Fat Boy about 300 miles ago. I immediately noticed a difference in the handling. Pirellis are significantly more stable on rutty and rough surfaces. Grip is excellent, and cornering smoother. They are also very reasonably priced.

Djangorider from Chicago, IL USA

51 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

A great tire, doesn't follow cracks.

September 30, 2009
I bought these tires for my 1997 Honda Shadow Spirit after the Dunlop 404s were thoroughly worn. One chief complaint I had on the Dunlops were they had a tendency to want to follow cracks in the road. After reading reviews here and other places for the Perellis, I can say I'm extremely happy with the new rubber! The stick to the ground the way you'd want, and the cracks that used to pull my bike one way or another are hardly even noticeable any longer. A great tire!

Eric Crist from Minneapolis, MN USA

68 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Number of pages - 1 2
Submit a review