HomeReviews → Avon

Avon Venom

User reviews of Avon Venom
Rated (3.7 / 5) 4 star rating
based on 32 reviews

Submit your review

Great tyre

May 04, 2015
I have used Avon Venoms for years now on the back of my Triumph speedmaster. The Metzeler tyre that came with the bike was far too hard and the bike would fishtail badly in the wet.

The Avon is much softer and sticks to the road like sht to a shovel. I've only had good experiences with the Avon Venom, and they last a good time considering how soft the compound is. For those who have had problems...

1) It's a soft compound so grips very well, but will not last as long as a hard compound.
2) Maintaining the correct tyre pressure is crucial for longevity and wear.
3) The type of wear pattern you get depends on your riding style. Avon Venoms are better for bikers who like to lean into corners.
4) Tyres will crack and perish after a while because they are made from rubber which is organic and so decomposes. This is accelerated by other factors such as UV light etc.

Al Rocker from Devon UK

23 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 4 star rating Overall: 5 star rating


Inspect your tires

July 07, 2014
I bought an Avon Venom for the rear of my 1995 Goldwing. I was getting a bounce that wasn't there with the Dunlop. I kept hearing a nose in the rear. I had my brakes changed but this noise continued. It bacame a lound click at highway speed. I pulled it on the center stand and discovered the tread was separating from the carcass in 11 different places. You can pull the tread back and see the wires. I am so lucky this did not blow and kill my wife and I.

I worked in tire manufacturing for years and know there was a problem with this tire. The tire had 6200 miles and wonder if they will stand by their warranty. One thing I know for sure is, I don't trust Avon tires with my life!

Phil Harwell from Fayetteville, TN

29 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Avon venom

June 11, 2014
I got 16,000 miles out of the Avon Venom rear tire. 2-up Heavy riding all the time. The secret is checking tire pressure once a week and maintaining 50 psi. In the rear. These tires are GREAT!!!! I never got more then 8000 miles out of Dunlops.

Mick Harley from New Jersey

26 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Avon venom x

April 05, 2013
I bought my tire right before summer last year I keep my bike out of the weather in a shed, went to get it out today and checked the tire pressure they were just fine but I noticed that the venom was weather cracked very bad I only have less then 2000 miles on it so I took it to were I bought it from a dealer in Maryville MO.
He said it was the worst hes seen and he called the distributor, they said there was nothing they could do about it so is there any thing I could do my self if so could some one tell me thank you.

Justinp from Savannah mo

32 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Maxie

September 18, 2012
Changed my 1989 1500 goldwing to a set of avons can't drive it since back tyre seems a lot bigger than dunlops and is rubbing on drive side of tyre against the swing arm. Local dealer changed back tyre for another Avon and this is touching swing arm as well not happy not easy job changing rear wheel on a goldwing. Looks like its another set of dunlops. Anybody else had same problem or can suggest better performing tyres as I do tend to get it down when cornering.

Harry Richardson from England

28 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 1 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Avons for me

July 30, 2012
Ran through several sets of these tires on an FXRS with air front end and long shocks. This bike was designed to eat corners. At least 10k miles on rear, more on front. The bike has a lean angle of 39 degrees and I have used most of it without problem. This tire sticks!

The most common problem is that people do not use enough air pressure. Use min 50 rear, 45 front. Cupping comes from low pressure. With Avon, the more the better. Quiet and smooth ride, very responsive.

This year I will put Cobra's on an Ultra. The Cobra is replacing the Venom.

Fxrmike from Pa

28 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 3 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Bad wear pattern on Goldwing

July 19, 2012
Put a pair of Venoms on my 2006 Goldwing after experiencing bad cupping problems on the front Dunlop tire earlier. Thought Avon had a good reputation for a long lasting, high quality tire.

After 3,500 miles, the front tire has a bad wear pattern and causes the fork to shake at 40 mph. Had the tire rebalanced and there was no change. Mechanic says he's seen others do the same thing and the owners usually go back to Dunlops. He says I'll be lucky to get 7,000 miles out of it, whereas I got 10,000+ out of the Dunlops. Rear tire seems to be good. I'll run it as long as I can, then I'm going back to Dunlops.

GL from Valdosta, GA

25 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 2 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Venom rear

April 21, 2012
Nice tire.
pro: very good traction, long wearing, nice ride quality, no dry rotting.

con: pricey, tire was waaaaaay heavy on one side, mounted it a couple of times it still took a ton of wheel weights.

JW from Rochester, NY

26 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Good grippers/short life

February 21, 2012
I ride a 2003 triumph america. I've had three avon venom rear tires and two in the front. The rears get 8-10,000 miles at best. 12-15,000 for the fronts. great handling tires. My only real gripe is that at the end they go from looking OK with adequate tread to bare spots in no time. (less than a day!)

LarryInIowa from Iowa

28 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Venom front tyre

December 22, 2011
I ride pretty hard in the mountains of vic. I only get 3,500-4000 km before the side of the tyre is worn out. The traction and stick is excellent. I've had it slide out a couple of times on loose stuff, but very tractable, and have never dropped the bike.
I've been forced onto metzler me888 cos the dealer didn't get avon.(don't stock them and generally screwed me around, after having the front wheel for a week!)
I'll write back a report on the metzler when I've run them for a bit!

HD XL1200c from East Coast Australia

33 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 1 star rating

Avon Venom X tires

September 26, 2011
Putting second set of Avons on my 200 Softail. Rear tire lasted 8000 miles, about the same as factory Dunlops. Canvas showing on the rear after a summer of loaded trips. Traction is phenomenal under all conditions. No cupping on the 21 inch front tire with proper tire pressure. Only gripe is tire sidewalls seem to start to check/crack before they show substantial wear. Might be the age as I have had then 4 years.

Ed Smiley from Middletown, PA USA

30 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Wear issues

August 14, 2011
I worked for Cooper Tire and they own Avon so I bought Avon tires and the 21" wore uneven so I thought it was not balanced correctly so I bought another and the same wearing pattern appeared with cracking!!!

Joe from Albany, Georgia

30 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 2 star rating

Venom X is NOT a High Performance Tire!

September 20, 2010
Venom X is a much better performing tire than Dunlop and wears better. It performs a little better than Metzeler 880, but wears quicker. Recently at 20% wear on my Fat boy, I noticed handling becoming a bit "twichery". I ran it up to 6,000rpm in top gear with recommended pressure. Yesterday, I did a 2nd gear rolling burn-out for 2/3 of a city block. Inspection revealed absolutely no tread left, bad blistering, and chunks gone out of tire at side tread area! Will not reveal my H.P. and torque figures. Just try to keep up with my stock APPEARING Hawg! I will next try Metzeler or Pirelli in V-RATED configuration. Venom-X is only H-rated. Will not be doing long, smokey burn-outs anymore unless the spectators will pay for my tire!

Elgringoloco from Dixie

38 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 3 star rating

After one season (Greg Polski )

August 31, 2010
Tires feel great and grips well no matter what the conditions ..........6000 miles and tread life is fine. Bead is good , have not had any problem with air leakage at all......A good looking tire and tread design.

Greg Polski from Minnesota

62 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Great mileage

June 07, 2010
When The Venon X came out I tried them and use them since I have a 2001 Yamha Venture Royal star Ventur Run 46 psi in the rear and 42 psi up front The rear toire presently has 21,000 miles on and a few thousand miles left.

we-fishin-c from Sudbury,Ontario

69 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Number of pages - 1 2 3
Submit a review