HomeReviews → Avon

Avon Venom

User reviews of Avon Venom
Rated (3.7 / 5) 4 star rating
based on 32 reviews

Submit your review

A great performance tire

March 18, 2010
I run a very custom Harley Softtail. My S&S 113 Dynos out at 115HP and 120 ftlbs torque. I ride hard! These tires do not last as long as 'Hard' rubber tires but for traction they cant be beat. For drag racing or running two up on mountain roads or cruising at 120mph these tires perform very well. I had cupping on my first set but after fine tuning the suspension and getting the tire pressure correct I have never had the problem again. If you want a long lasting tire look elsewhere. If you are concerned with sticking to the road then pay the xtra.

Lobo from PA, USA

69 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Lets see what these baby`s will do

February 02, 2010
Just mounted up a pair of venom x tires on my 96 triumph adventurer......
Look great, but its January in Minnesota.
I will keep you posted on how they handle and wear.
We`ll start with three stars and go up or down from there....
Cost for the pair was fair and reasonable.
I picked these tires over the bridgestones and metzlers from other reviews from the triumph web site.
As a new bike, it came with avons.

GREG POLSKI from BURNSVILLE , MN. USA

34 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

150/80H16 on a 1500 Nomad

January 24, 2010
16000 miles with 1/16" of tread left on the rear, front looks almost new. By far the best tire I have tried, very smoth, quiet, great traction, and I have doubled the mileage of the bridgstones that were stock. I did have a vibration at speeds above 110mph, but incressing pressure to 60psi on rear and 55psi on the front and it disapeared. (low milage from others might be under inflation, call avon for recommended pressures).

Dan Williams from Virginia Beach, Va

49 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Great tire but poor longevity

July 30, 2009
Replaced my OEM Bridgestone when I got a nail in it, with the Venom. Was very impressed with the traction, both wet and dry. Excellent for cornering on windy mountain roads. Rode mostly 2 up with lots of gear. Only managed to get 12,000km (7,500mi) before had to replace due to severe cupping on left side of tire.

Malcolm W from Lethbridge, Alberta Canada

66 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Nice ride and handling but wears too quickly

July 18, 2009
I put a set of these on my Kawasaki 1500 Drifter to replace the stock Bridgestones at about 7,000 miles. When riding my bike through town last week (fortunately at low speed) I experienced a rear tire blowout. After removing the wheel, cord was showing almost all the way around the tire after being ridden for 8,000 miles with regular pressure checks and only one up with minimal loads. I will not be buying any more of these, they are nice when they are new but wear out way too fast.

Smokey Strodtman from Gilliam, MO USA

46 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 3 star rating


Top Harley tyres

July 13, 2009
I have had venom x on my 04 softtail most of its life, I ride it fairly hard and still menage to get over 10 thousand k's out of them(rear tyre)and over 20 on the front. I have a different tyre on the rear now(suplier had no venoms) its not until I HAD 2 put a different tyre on the back I realized how much faith and wear I got out of avon. A venom is goin back on next week for sure...top all rounder!!

clint from Q,AUS

54 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Expected more for the price

June 29, 2009
I put these tires on my 2003 VTX 1800 Retro. Avon has a great reputation so I thought I'd give them a try. They stick like glue on wet or dry pavement. But they made turn in more difficult than the Metzler 880's they replaced. I was disappointed I got less than 5,000 miles before cord showed on the rear tire. My bike dyno'd at 98HP/107ft. lbs. so maybe that had something to do with the mileage. I replaced them with Dunlop E3's and couldn't be happier.

Jerry from North Texas

49 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

00Fatboy Avon Venom X

June 01, 2009
I have a set of Venom's on my 2000 Harley Fatboy. I love these tires, great in all conditions, dry, wet, even on steel grated bridges. Track very well and they don't grab paint lines or road snakes near as much as the stock Dunlops. Have cranked up 7,000 miles front and rear and they still look near new, no cupping as others have experienced. Highly recommend over stock Harley tires. I run Avons on all my bikes.

Don from Boston, Mass

57 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

GL 1800

September 22, 2008
After having put approximately 11000 miles on them, my only criticism is severe cupping. My front end wobbles at nearly all speeds below 60mph (no problem with one or both hands on bars.) No other tire I've owned has cupped this severely. I'm assuming this is a byproduct of performance (versus mileage) tire formulation. I'm generally satisfied with these tires.

wimmo from Rhode Island

36 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Cords Showing

July 06, 2008
From the other reviews here, I don't know what's going on with mine. I've got the Avon Venom rear tire on a Yamaha Roadstar. The tire is less than 1yr old with 5900 miles and the cord is showing in one spot. I had to lock it up once when someone pulled out in front of me. I guess that caused a bad spot which caused fast wear.

superbeast from Lancaster, OH

40 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 1 star rating

Avon AV55/AV56

April 12, 2008
I ran these tires on a 2004 Kawasaki Concours overall I am very happy. I got great traction in all conditions and reasonable wear. I have 2/32 tread left at 10k with very minor cupping on the rear. I commute 60 miles a day with 30 miles being mild twisties and 20 miles multilane. The only reason I am going to go to a different tire is that Avon stopped making my rear size

Alan from Spokane/Elk , WA USA

35 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Over 20,000 Miles

January 27, 2008
I had to replace the stock tires on my 2005 Royal Star Tour Deluxe at 10,000 miles, being that I ride about 20,000 miles a year, I would have been changing them twice a year.
The dealership I shop at told me to try the Venoms, I was elated, I put over 20,000 on them and they gave me a great ride no matter the roads or weather.
I plan to get another set this spring in preperation for that 4,000- 5,000 mile vacation and recommend them to anybody riding a big cruiser. Good Riding

Bill from Bartlett

85 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Excellant Touring Tire

November 16, 2007
This is my third set of Avon Venom X Touring Tires. I have put them on a Harley-Davidson 2003 Road Glide, 2006 Street Glide and on my 2007 Ultra Classic Screaming Eagle. Below is a list of my results.

Positive rolling tires adds approx .75 MPG more.
I can hear my stereo at 80 MPH.
The bike is easier to turn at slow speeds.
I can lay the bikes farther over in turns with great traction.
I average 13 to 16K miles on rear with 25K on the front. Usually one up!
Great in Florida rain.
I run Nitrogen in my tires and I rarely have to add more Nitrogen.
The rear tire will hold twice the weight of OEM Harley-Davidson Tire.
Both Tires are substantially less expensive than OEM tires.
Mesh Bridge Grates are no problem.

With a Avon 150 on the rear the bikes sets slightly lower.
I get tired of trying to explain Avon tires to Hardcore HD Bikers.
Heavy loads will wear the rear tire quicker than normal.

The above results are from my experiences, not what I have read, been told or been sold on. Proper inflation is everything with this tire. Your results may very.



Bobby Moody from Tampa Florida USA

187 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Handle Excellent, Wear Fast

August 10, 2007
I put a Venom X 150/80 16 on the rear of my 06 Heritage Classic and it has just gone past the tread in the middle to where it is now bald. I've put 6,000 miles on. 95% of the time 2 up. My wife is 140 and I am 205. Up side is the handle of the bike is so much better than the D404 that was on it.

Brian from Vermont from USA

45 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Maybe Bad Luck...Maybe the tires

July 11, 2007
There were several times that these tires slipped a bit and I let it go. Only last week I went around a turn and the tire gave out like I was on ice and down I went. I inspected the road for gravel or oil...nothing. I entered the turn at 30 mph, on a turn I have taken a 100 times far more aggressively. I have no idea why other than the tire. Today I am having them replaced. The day was sunny and hot and the road was smooth...go figure.

Mike from Baltimore

34 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 2 star rating

Number of pages - 1 2 3
Submit a review