HomeReviews → Metzeler

Metzeler Marathon 880

User reviews of Metzeler Marathon 880
Rated (3.2 / 5) 3 star rating
based on 69 reviews

Submit your review

Metzeler 880

March 19, 2013
Last Sept. I had to replace my rear 880 because it was splitting in the tread, you could see the threads. It was less than a year old. Now this one another 880 maybe 1000 miles on it's splitting in 2 sections all the way around. Date code makes it a year old now so its not an age problem.

Never getting a Metzeler again. Did I mention as others did I recked on the freeway with my last bike because the there lost traction on a wet road. I was not speeding. 3 metzelers and there out.

Tom from Washington

31 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 2 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating


No durability

October 10, 2012
When my stock Dunlops wore I decided to replace both with 880's at 11K. Front tire is fine but rarely do fronts wear out evenly with the rears. Rear tire is a 150/80H B16, I do daily riding and long distance in any weather. This tire gripped better than the stock Dunlops in any weather but the drawback is that at 18K the tire is shot. Worn to the strings.
Not going with Metzler again, on to Conti's or Mich's where there is comparable performance with longer life. I ride a full dress 09 Harley, usually solo. Yes I ride hard but 7K ?? not acceptable.

Kriss Dee from New York, NY

37 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Best Tires!

September 20, 2012
I am not sure words can do these tires justice. I had the stock Dunlaps on my 01 HD FXD and thought they were OK. But, when it came time to replace and I started doing my research, every forum and every review I read kept pointing in the direction of the Metzler Marathon tire. So, that is what I went with and I cannot even put into words the difference in these tires compared to the Dunlaps.

I know everyone is going to have different opinions on what they think is the best tire and a lot of reviews indicated that you cant go wrong with a couple of the most popular brands. I cannot speak for any other tire and I never will because Metzler has my tire business for life.

Having these tires under me give me so much confidence while riding in any and all conditions. The tire hugs the road and the tread pattern the tire does not grab ruts, bridge grates, cuts in the road, etc. they just roll right over it continuing to hug the road. If you do have these tires then you need to make the switch when it is time for an upgrade.

chuck from Charleston, SC

33 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Great Tires

August 13, 2012
Great Tires
Had these put on in 2010 Sept and 13621 miles later just need a back tire replaced. Maybe next time replace both. They have performed great and I have only had one issue and that was my fault. Make sure you run at the pressure Metzler says not what the bike book says.
Am h aveing the back one replaced this week.
160/80 B 16 M/C 75H TL ME 880 MARATHON

Lemon from Decatur, IL

30 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 5 star rating Overall: 5 star rating

Rider

July 06, 2012
I bought a set of metzler me880 tires got 4,800 miles on them before I noticed back tire coming apart in the groves dry rot the way it looks bike garage kept on a sealed floor never seen rain tire handles great just falling apart I'll never buy another shop in town said I was the third person within a month that they have seen this on a bike hope this helps with picking a tire.

Buddy from Owensboro ky

33 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 5 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Suicide rubber

June 23, 2012
Great tyre in the dry excellent grip and very high mileage. If it even gets damp head home slowly, easily breaks traction on my triumph america and slides on cornering. It follows any seam or crack in road surface. Anybody want one with 4mm tread left Im ditching it.

Ian Blyth from Scotland

32 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 1 star rating

Rider

March 23, 2012
I do quite a bit of riding on suzuki boulevard 50t and have 20k miles on this set of tires and still plenty of tread to do a 3k mile road trip this summer. my next set will also be metzler 880 marathons.

Todd Graybill from Kentucky

26 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Motorcyclist me 880

March 14, 2012
Well I got 150k and a flat on a me 880 rear 200mm 15.
my vtx 1300c.
$400.00 tire plus install. picked up a piece of metal.
previous had 2 sets of dunlop tires 40,000k on my bike.
made me sick, fastest $400.00 I ever spent. Premium tire.
I just ordered a metzeler replacement. am I stupid or what?

slacker from Ontario canada

25 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 3 star rating

Metzler, never again...

March 03, 2012
Horrible wet traction compared to my stock dunnies, really bad dry traction on centre tread... Wheelies are impossible now. They cup easily, and are over-priced for what they are. Goods: look good, and last forever.....but they are 10k miles of crappy performance.

Vance Plumb from So. Cal

36 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 2 star rating

Metzler

February 06, 2012
Metzler marathon. I have a harley 09 softail. I have a Metzler marathon 200/55-17 and its bald with only 5400 miles on it. I have had dunlop and only get 6000 out of them. What is a better tire that size that will last?
ruger762(at)live.com

Jeff Ware from Colfax ca 995713

23 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 2 star rating

Great wear 880's

December 29, 2011
I ride about 18000 miles a yr,on a 99 roadstar. I'm getting 15000 mi off the rear and 30000 mi off the front with the 880's. I've run Brazil and German made. Had a rear flat and rode 3/4 mi, should have destroyed the side wall but got another 8ooo mi. Great wear and traction couldn't have better praise.

Pat from Va

41 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Vibration and cupping

November 12, 2011
I put a set of the 880's on my v-star 1300 and had some noise and vibration from the front. After talking with the rep at americade he told me to add more pressure to both they were designed for heavier bikes with higher pressures and my factory pressures were too low for the tire. After adding the pressure he recommended the tire has been flawless I will be buying more in the future.

Dann C from New England

39 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 5 star rating

Tire Howel

September 17, 2011
I just replaced the rear tire on my 06 V2K with a my second Metzler ME 880, did a 250 km run today and Boy the Howling was loud, at back road cruising speed 70-80 kph. I put my first set on last year, both front and back and noticed a slight howel from the front this season about 10,000km on it. The rear was good no noise and got about 15,000KM but very disappointed this time. I thought it might be belt tension so I adjusted it and tried it again. No change. I'm assuming they will not replace the tire.LOL. Now I have to get louder pipes. Has anyone else had this experience with Metzler?

Anonymous from Halifax, N.S Canada

26 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 4 star rating

Sidewall cracking

August 24, 2011
Installed tow me880 www on 5-19-11. Was cleaning bike on 8-14-11 and noticed what would appears a "weather cracking" outside of the ww. Scary. Metzler will not do anyting until they receive the tire for "inspection". Their cusomer service people could care less! Junk tires. Now I am told the rear tire is showing signs of "heat" buildup. Will see what happens today when I take the bike in for new front tire. 8-24-11

kent k from salt lake city, utah

37 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 1 star rating

Rear ME 880 150/80HB-16 Wide poor quality

August 14, 2011
Purchased Tire in Feb 21 2011, these tire rode very well, excellent in the wet and in sharp corners. How ever when inspecting the tire after 150 mile ride I have a inch and half strip in the center of the tire about 24 inches long. Thinking to myself f--- I only have 3000 mile on this tire. When inspected the tire is starting to split and separate all the way around the middle. Your thinking too much air pressure, like me. No, tire pressure was fine. Google Metzler tire problems it seem to happen often DO NOT BUY METZLER!

Stuart poole from virginia usa

57 - Was this review helpful?
Overall: 1 star rating

Number of pages - 1 2 3 4 5
Submit a review