Home > Reviews > Dunlop

Dunlop D404

Avg. Rating (2.8 Stars) 3 star rating
Number of Reviews: 74

Submit a review

Owner

July 23, 2014
Dunlop 404 I purchased this tire this year 2013 DOT. Tire was dry rotting after 7 months. I took it back to the dealer and the Dunlop rep said the tire was worn out after 3000 miles and I should replace it. He offered nothing to replace tire. Dunlop does not stand behind there crap products. They are a scam beware. I'll never buy them again.
Dave Hunsche from St Louis

2 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 1 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Clayton

June 25, 2014
This tire is terrible. I BOUGHT IT ON MAY 1ST AND ON THE FIRST WEEK OF JUNE IT WAS BALD! NOW IM BEING TOLD THEY ARE NOT MADE FOR BIG BIKES! IM GETTING THE RUN AROUND FROM THE DEALER so I contacted Dunlop and the guy went on vacation before he called me back. I had to call him several times to get the second call back later. Now I'm riding in tire shredded down the middle while I wait for them to fix the problem. We'll see what happens first. Either I wipe out , blow out or get the tire replaced by either the dealer or a credit from Dunlop.
Bart from United States

0 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Poor longevity

February 16, 2014
Placed a d404 on the rear of my 2007 Honda vtx1300 while doing 95 percent of the riding on Arkansas roads. (alot chip and seal) and only was able to get 3,000 mi out of this tire.
Ron from Arkansas

0 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Poor longevity

January 20, 2014
Had the dunlop 404d on for 1yr 3mo with about 2600mi put on them driving mostly on chip and seal roads. The tires are worn down the middle with no thread left. Dealer told me about another 500mi or less before I will be showing the belt and needing another rear tire. Never again for rear tire. Jury is still out on front. Original dunlop that came with the bike with 10mi lasted close to 9300 and 2 1/2 years but it was a different model.
Ron from Arkansas

0 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Dunlop 404 didn't last 3000 miles

October 06, 2013
I had a new Dunlop put on rear of my Harley in march. The tire is shot after 3000 miles and flat wear pattern across the middle. I checked the air pressure before each ride. These tires are junk. I will go with Bridgestone from now on. STAY AWAY FROM DUNLOP!!!!
Jerry b from Minnesota

2 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 2 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

No more dunlop 404 tires

July 16, 2013
I had these same tires on my old 500 Kawasaki and got about 12,000 miles out of the set. On my vl800, I've had two sets and never gotten more than 7,500 miles out of them. They grip great for the first 1,000 or so miles, but wear rapidly and performance goes downhill fast. Never again with these tires for me.
Tony L from Michigan

2 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 2 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Done with dunlop

July 01, 2013
Had Dunlops in past that gripped and wore well. These 404's are the worst by far I've ever rode on. Front and back both have 6K on them and are nearly bald. I usually get 8 front and 12-14 back. Will now buy anything but Dunlop for replacement.
Gary Markert from Chicago Area

3 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Piece of crap.

June 07, 2013
I replaced both tires on my 2000 750 Honda ACE with 404 Dunlops. Within a matter of 2000 km, I noticed significant wear on both tires. I conferred with my buddies and they advised to run 4-5 psi above recommended for the bike. I am a new rider ( pleasure only) 155 lbs, solo, mature and sedate ( mostly) and not a risk-taker at 60. I don't like this tire at all.
I am on this site to check out my next replacement, and I am glad that I have this opportunity to warn others to stay away from this tire ( piece of crap ). Your money is better spent elsewhere.
Jay Damhar from New Brunswick, Canada

4 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Bacon

March 24, 2013
Tire bald after 2750 miles!!! I'm a stickler for proper tire pressure. Now that's an expensive piece of junk!!! Have noticed, since running Dunlops on my bike for 79,000 miles (usually Cruisemax) over a period of 11 years, the mileage has been getting less and less per tire. Used to get 12000 miles on a tire. Now, not even close.
Raven from Clifton, Az

5 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

D404 not for harleys

October 25, 2012
On dunlops web site, I did not know this. Two shops said there was not problem running this tire on a dresser. Scary!!!

Is the D404 an acceptable replacement tire for use on Harley Davidson models?

The D404 is not meant to be used on Harley Davidson motorcycles. In many cases the D404 does not have the load carrying capacity for use on Harley Davidson motorcycles. Most D404 tires are intended for lighter, cruising motorcycles and are constructed for use on those bikes. D404 tires are bias tires, not bias belted, and do not have additional supporting plies.
Motorcycle tires differ from each other in their size, their load carrying capacity, internal construction and the intended type of use. For example, tires for sport riding compared to tires for long distance touring may have different compounds, constructions and tread patterns.
Always fit the correct tires to your motorcycle, and for Harley Davidson motorcycles, never fit a D404.

Edit: I found the rated capacities.
D404 67H 661Number (at)41psi
D401 73H 805Number (at)41psi
D402 74H 827Number (at)41psi
Didnotknow from Az

9 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 1 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating
Submit a review
Number of pages - 1 2 3 4 5 6


 

More from Dunlop: