Home > Reviews > Dunlop

Dunlop D404

User reviews of Dunlop D404
Rated (2.8 / 5) 3 star rating
based on 78 reviews

Submit your review

Owner

March 12, 2015
These 404's are terrible in any aspect you can think of. I got 2,700 miles out of the rear and the front will give steering problems at slow speed. I would not install even if free.

Russel from Texas

2 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

They seem ok to me

January 11, 2015
I have a set of 404's on my VTX1300C that I purchased used from a dealer recently. The tires were brand new when I got the bike. I now have 2500 miles on them and I can hardly see any wear at all. The bike rides and handles well. I have ridden some in the wet and it handles it nicely. On the interstate at 95mph indicated (the VTX is about 10 percent generous on the speedo) it is extremely comfortable. I just got the bike in Oct so all of my miles have been in cool weather. Unless they start having fast wear, they look like they will do OK. I do not ride 2 up. And I weigh about 230. Bill

Bill from Hamlet NC

3 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 4 star rating Overall: 4 star rating

Cruiser rider

September 23, 2014
Purchased a set of 404's for my intruder at dealers recommendation for a planned 2,800 mile trip through Canada this past July. Tires installed at approx 12,300 miles and now bike has 15,600 miles and I have to replace the tire. It has no tread left on it. I'm switching to Metzlers, I don't want to spend 400 plus dollars every 3,500 miles on tires.. Not sure what the problem is, but if Dunlop isn't going to back their products, then I'm not going to buy from them! DO NOT PURCHASE DUNLOP 404, bad tires!!! These tires say made in Indonesia, if it matters. Maybe bad batch, but be warned!

Don from O.

3 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

The tractor man

August 20, 2014
I paid far too much for my Indonesian 404s, but they were on the shelf at a local dealer, and where else was I going to find tires locally for my 78 GL100? Someone had ordered them for a GL1100 and left them two years prior. I gathered that much from the parts counter and the date code. Mounted and balanced myself, never had a problem with feel, although the howling some have mentioned has had me thinking I'm developing a final drive problem when cornering over 40mph.
I imagine that's what it is, as the rear tire is pretty well worn flat across the center. At about 8000 miles, I'm now approaching the indicators. The rear is quite cupped as well, which I imagine is the source of the noise. Also, this tire has had fine cracks in the tread since day one, and even has at least one half inch long split between the tread, with other little "cuts" here and there.

As well, you could just about cook eggs on it after about twenty miles, it gets hot. Given the oddly worn profile, it now tends to slide when turning corners with the right amount of throttle. Fairly predictable, but irritating on a broad left turn. Front tire still looks new.

Blasted through a thunderstorm the other day at 75mph and had zero issues despite inches of water in the road at intervals. I won't be buying my tires from the dealer again, nor will I purchase Indonesian Dunlops again. I have the option of a 16" wheel for the rear now, already mounted with a "new" CST with a 70 something load index. I'll see how it goes when the 404 absolutely must come off.

David from West Texas

2 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 2 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Owner

July 23, 2014
Dunlop 404 I purchased this tire this year 2013 DOT. Tire was dry rotting after 7 months. I took it back to the dealer and the Dunlop rep said the tire was worn out after 3000 miles and I should replace it. He offered nothing to replace tire. Dunlop does not stand behind there crap products. They are a scam beware. I'll never buy them again.

Dave Hunsche from St Louis

14 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 1 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Clayton

June 25, 2014
This tire is terrible. I BOUGHT IT ON MAY 1ST AND ON THE FIRST WEEK OF JUNE IT WAS BALD! NOW IM BEING TOLD THEY ARE NOT MADE FOR BIG BIKES! IM GETTING THE RUN AROUND FROM THE DEALER so I contacted Dunlop and the guy went on vacation before he called me back. I had to call him several times to get the second call back later. Now I'm riding in tire shredded down the middle while I wait for them to fix the problem. We'll see what happens first. Either I wipe out , blow out or get the tire replaced by either the dealer or a credit from Dunlop.

Bart from United States

9 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Poor longevity

February 16, 2014
Placed a d404 on the rear of my 2007 Honda vtx1300 while doing 95 percent of the riding on Arkansas roads. (alot chip and seal) and only was able to get 3,000 mi out of this tire.

Ron from Arkansas

10 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 4 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating


Poor longevity

January 20, 2014
Had the dunlop 404d on for 1yr 3mo with about 2600mi put on them driving mostly on chip and seal roads. The tires are worn down the middle with no thread left. Dealer told me about another 500mi or less before I will be showing the belt and needing another rear tire. Never again for rear tire. Jury is still out on front. Original dunlop that came with the bike with 10mi lasted close to 9300 and 2 1/2 years but it was a different model.

Ron from Arkansas

10 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 3 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 2 star rating

Dunlop 404 didn't last 3000 miles

October 06, 2013
I had a new Dunlop put on rear of my Harley in march. The tire is shot after 3000 miles and flat wear pattern across the middle. I checked the air pressure before each ride. These tires are junk. I will go with Bridgestone from now on. STAY AWAY FROM DUNLOP!!!!

Jerry b from Minnesota

11 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 2 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

No more dunlop 404 tires

July 16, 2013
I had these same tires on my old 500 Kawasaki and got about 12,000 miles out of the set. On my vl800, I've had two sets and never gotten more than 7,500 miles out of them. They grip great for the first 1,000 or so miles, but wear rapidly and performance goes downhill fast. Never again with these tires for me.

Tony L from Michigan

11 - Was this review helpful?
Traction: 2 star rating Mileage: 1 star rating Overall: 1 star rating

Number of pages - 1 2 3 4 5 6
Submit a review